88Nine Radio Milwaukee

Today's stream is sponsored by Maxie's

Richard Thompson on World Cafe

tmoody's picture
Click to enlarge

As the title to Richard Thompson's new album suggests, the singer has lost none of his spark 45 years into his career. Recorded at the Nashville home of guitarist Buddy Miller, Electric showcases a transition from folk and country to rock and punk. Given his history as a founding member of Fairport Convention and his experience working with artists as diverse as Robert Plant and Nick Drake, Thompson has built a career on his unwillingness to be pigeonholed. Electric, as a result, isn't so much a surprise as a reflection of his rich career.

It may be a solo record, but Thompson doesn't go it alone. Alison Krauss harmonizes in the tender song "The Snow Goose," while English singer-songwriter Siobhan Maher Kennedy contributes vocals to several tracks, including the standout ballad "My Enemy."

Thompson plays and discusses songs from Electric on this edition of World Cafe. (Link)


(( )) for interlude music


Richard Thompson “Persuasion” Action Packed: Best Of Capitol Years
Steve Earle & the Dukes “Calico County” Low Highway
The Jayhawks “Bad Time” Tomorrow the Green Grass
Pickwick “Hacienda Motel “Can’t Talk Medicine
((Richard Thompson “My Enemy” Recorded Live for the World Cafe))
Richard Thompson “Good Things Happen to Bad People” Recorded Live for the World Cafe
Richard Thompson “Salford Sunday” Recorded Live for the World Cafe
Richard Thompson “Stuck of the Treadmill” Recorded Live for the World Cafe
Richard Thompson “The Snow Goose” Recorded Live for the World Cafe
((Teddy Thompson “Love Her For That” Teddy Thompson))
Dawes “From a Window Seat” Stories Don’t End
Thin Lizzy “Wild One” Dedication
Gary Clark Jr. “Bright Lights” Bright Lights EP


Dire Straits “Once Upon a Time in the West” Communique
Night Beds “Ramona” Country Sleep
Iron & Wine “Boy With a Coin” Boy With a Coin
Robert Plant & Alison Krauss “Please Read the Letter” Raising Sand
Villagers “Nothing Arrived” Awayland
The Kinks “Waterloo Sunset” Something Else By The Kinks
((Cake “Sheep Go To Heaven” Prolonging the Magic))
Modest Mouse “Float On” Good News For People Who Love Bad News
Eels “Peach Blossom” Wonderful Glorious
Frightened Rabbit “The Woodpile” Pedestrian Verse
REM “Ignoreland” Automatic for the People
((U2 “Bullet the Blue Sky” Rattle and Hum))
The Slide Brothers “Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’” Robert Randolph Presents
RL Burnside “Everything Is Broken” Big Bad Love Soundtrack
JD McPherson “North Side Gal” Signs and Signifiers
((The Relatives “What’s Wrong With America” Recorded Live for the World Cafe))