88Nine Radio Milwaukee

Today's stream is sponsored by Maxie's

Night Beds on World Cafe | April 3, 2013

Click to enlarge

Night Beds is the work of Winston Yellen, who originally started making music in his hometown of Colorado Springs. But he traveled to Nashville to write the songs for Night Beds' debut album, Country Sleep, in a pre-Civil War cabin once owned by Johnny Cash.

The lyrics may have come from Nashville, but the record's open, dusty sound is pure Colorado. Yellen brings his amazing, wide-ranging voice to this installment of World Cafe, playing songs from Country Sleep as well as a track that didn't make the album. (Link)


(( )) for interlude music

The Reivers “Breathin’ Easy” Pop Beloved

Iron & Wine “Grace For Saints & Ramblers” Ghost on Ghost

Liz Phair “Cinco De Mayo” Whip-Smart

Eleanor Friedberger “Stare At the Sun” Personal Record

Raphael Saadiq “Heart Attack” Stone Rollin’

((The Helio Sequence “One More Time” Recorded Live for the World Cafe))

Night Beds “Faithful Heights / Ramona” Recorded Live for the World Cafe

Night Beds “Even If We Try” Recorded Live for the World Cafe

Night Beds “Head For the Hills” Recorded Live for the World Cafe

((Pickwick “Lady Luck” Can’t Talk Medicine))

The Band “When I Paint My Masterpiece” Rock Of Ages

Ryan Adams “When the Stars Go Blue” Gold

Civil Wars “Long Time Gone” A Place At the Table

Belle & Sebastian “I Want the World To Stop” Write About Love

((Geology “Along the Road” The Neighboring Sea))

XTC “The Ballad Of Peter Pumpkinhead” Nonsuch

The xx “Sunset” Coexist

Talking Heads “Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)” Remain In Light

John Butler Trio “Zebra” Sunrise Over Sea

Eels “New Alphabet” Wonderful Glorious

((The Black Keys “Psychotic Girl” Attack & Release))

Hey Marseilles “Bright Stars Burning” Lines We Trace

Suzanne Vega “Cassidy” Deadicated

The Lumineers “Submarines” The Lumineers

Local Natives “Heavy Feet” Hummingbird

Alt-J “Breezeblocks” An Awesome Wave

((Beck “Loser” Mellow Gold))

Procol Harum “Shine On Brightly” Best Of Procol Harum

Django Django “Default” Django Django

The Replacements “Alex Chilton” Pleased to Meet Me

Frightened Rabbit “Pedestrian Verse” The Woodpile

((Ween “Your Party” La Cucaracha))